The Secret Ingredient

I’m a kids movie kind of person. I would much rather watch “Toy Story” for the 200th time than sit through some adult “rom-com-thriller-shoot’em up-mystery-where the butler did it” movie. There is an incredible amount of inspiration and truth in really good kids movies (think any Pixar movie aside from “Cars 2”). One of my all-time favorite movies is Dreamworks “Kung Fu Panda”. You know the story…big Panda is supposed to be happy with his lot in life, but dreams of being something more, although he believes those dreams are unattainable. As fate would have it, he has the chance to fulfill his dream, but he doesn’t believe he can do it, even though others whom he respects believe in his prescribed destiny. Even after learning of the greatest secret, he just doesn’t know how defeat his enemy and become the person he wants to become. He has all the pieces to the puzzle, but just can’t seem to put it all together.

And then he makes the connection. There is no secret ingredient. To be the person you want to be, you just have to believe you can do it. You just have to believe.

I went to the doctor for my monthly weigh in this morning and was shocked (shocked, I say!) to realize that I’ve lost 30 pounds since October 28th. As the clouds I walked on carried me out of the office and back to my car, I realized something. There is no secret ingredient to losing weight. I’m just doing all of the things I’m supposed to do like watch my calories, exercise, drink oodles of water, rely on my family and friends for support and believe in myself. Those are the pieces to my puzzle…and I finally put it all together.

30 down! 50 to go! Ska-doosh!

Live. Laugh. Love.

2 thoughts on “The Secret Ingredient

  1. Marvelous! I’m proud of you and you are encouraging me today. I had a fairly lackadaisical 3 months with no weight loss….I just have to do things I need to do! Thank you, good luck & keep losing!

Leave a Reply

