I signed up for my first 5k!

It’s official!  I made the leap and signed up for my first 5k.  Little Minion, Marathon Man and I are going to participate in the race.  I’m sure they will do a combination of walking and running and finish in no time.  Big Minion will  be a Course Volunteer.  It seems volunteering for races is more his thing. But still, it’ll be a “whole-family” thing and that makes me happy.

Admittedly, I haven’t been very diligent about training for this.  Marathon Man is a math and engineering teacher by day and play-by-play sportscaster for local high school athletics by night.  This week is basketball Sectionals and he hasn’t been around much.  Walking/running around the track has lost its shine for Little Minion and Big Minion won’t even attempt to go to the gym.  I almost had a walking buddy on Thursday, but her plans changed.  Time and companionship have been in small supply for training lately.

And that’s okay.

Simply-walking-cuts-risk-of-heart-disease

I’ll walk.

It may take an hour or longer, but by golly, I will finish the 5k next weekend.  I want that darn shirt.

“Stay committed to your decisions; but stay flexible in your approach.” ~Tony Robbins

Live. Laugh. Love.

Follow “Dropping the Baggage” on Facebook and join a community of people who want to live a healthier life. www.facebook.com/DroppingTheBaggage

Leave a Reply

