We finished our first 5k!

Little Minion and I before the race began this morning.
Little Minion and I before the race began this morning.

I had been eyeing the weather reports for the past few days and all was looking good. Rain was predicted for today, but not until the evening. As usual, the weather reports were wrong.

When we left the house this morning, it was 30 degrees, sleet was falling from the sky and it was windy. Perfect weather conditions for our first 5k (not).

We were not daunted. We arrived at the race and Big Minion made his way to the water station where he was going to volunteer. Little Minion and I headed to the starting line.

Little Minion quickly found someone more his age and speed and I didn’t see him again until Mile 2. I knew I was going to walk most of it, which was smart because this course had several steep hills. I was able to squeeze in a little bit of running on the straightaways which felt good and I ran the last 1/10 of a mile. Little Minion was at the finish line waiting for me. He ran to me and grabbed my arm and we crossed the finish line together (where’s the Kleenex?).

So far, my PB is 57:18.

We’ll do this again.

Live. Laugh. Love.

Follow “Dropping the Baggage” on Facebook and join a community of people who want to live a healthier life. www.facebook.com/DroppingTheBaggage

3 thoughts on “We finished our first 5k!

Leave a Reply

