Finding the routine

Marathon Man gave me a gift the other day “just because”.  He bought  “Mile Markers” by Kristin Armstrong for me.  It’s a compilation of her blog posts about how running shapes not only your body, but every aspect of your life. She considers her running group her “sole” sisters, women who have enriched her life and support her without judgement.  She also seems to have a strong support system at home, with a brother who will come to her home at 4:00 a.m.  to stay with her kids so she can run. I love the book and really appreciate her passion for running. I admire her discipline, getting up at 4:00 a.m. to run with her running group on a regular consistent basis.

Mile Markers

I wish I had that.  All of it really.  The committed running group who would help hold me accountable.  The discipline to not only wake up, but get out of bed at 4:00 a.m. to run (or walk, in my case for now).  The ability to exercise without kids sometimes.  When I started out on this, I thought it would be great for the family (especially Little Minion) to all jump into the “healthy lifestyle” pool with both feet.  Little Minion is going to be nine years old next week (yikes! how did that happen?!) and I thought this would be a great bonding opportunity for us.  Don’t get me wrong, I love spending time with him.  But, it’s not exactly something he enjoys, so it’s becoming a little cumbersome.

There are four hours every day (theoretically) between the time my work day ends and the time to head to bed to get some exercise time in.  But, those four hours evaporate faster than a bead of water on Death Valley’s floor in the middle of July.

Marathon Man and I decided that we can alternate going out for a run/walk in the morning before work.  I wish we could go out in the mornings together. Someday.  I’ve put the call out to my friends in the neighborhood to see if anyone wants to join me for a 30 minute trek in the dark at 5:00 AM.  I’m hoping someone responds.

“You can’t do it all yourself. Don’t be afraid to rely on others to help you accomplish your goals.” ~Oprah Winfrey

I need to find a routine that works not only for me, but also accommodates the needs of the many roles I have.   I know there are tons of people out there who have found this little key to happiness. I know mine is out there.

Live. Laugh. Love.

Follow “Dropping the Baggage” on Facebook and join a community of people who want to live a healthier life. www.facebook.com/DroppingTheBaggage

Leave a Reply

