Digging my heels in

I’ve been hovering at 40 pounds for over two weeks now.  It’s been fun putting on clothes that are two sizes smaller and that I haven’t been able to wear in a long time.  My favorite pair of Levi’s can not only go above my thighs now, but are actually a little loose.  And the dress I wore on Easter, I haven’t worn in five years.

But, I’m also afraid I’m getting a little complacent.  A little too comfortable. I’m finding that now that I’ve completed a 5k and lost a good amount of weight, I’m not as diligent about getting the next level.  So I’m taking a dietbet.  You’ve probably heard of these.  A group of people put money into a pot and set a goal.   Whoever reaches the goal, gets a share of the pot.  I follow The Anti-Jared on Facebook and he started a dietbet yesterday.  $50 gets you in and the goal is to lose 4% of your body weight in 28 days.  Whoever reaches the goal gets a share of  $7,900 (tally as of yesterday).

This month’s budget doesn’t have room for a dietbet entry fee, but that’s not going to stop me. I’m digging my heels in and taking my own personal dietbet.  My 4% equals 10 pounds. My rewards will be a surprise from Marathon Man.  A shopping spree, perhaps?

“Motivation is like food for the brain. You cannot get enough in one sitting. It needs continual and regular top up’s.” ~Peter Davies

Here’s to motivation!  Let’s lose this!

Live. Laugh. Love.

Follow “Dropping the Baggage” on Facebook and join a community of people who want to live a healthier life. www.facebook.com/DroppingTheBaggage

Leave a Reply

