I’ve been getting it all wrong

heart

Last week, I began taking a Bible study class at my Church.  It’s the Little Rock Scripture Study Series (aka Bible Study).  I have to admit that I’m not a very good traditional student.  Reading is not really my “thing”.  I learn by listening and experiencing.  So, I wasn’t all that surprised that by today’s class, I hadn’t read or completed my homework.

As it turns out a) I wasn’t the only one and b) that’s okay.

Most of the discussion at our table tonight was based on personal experience with spirituality.  Our discussion was insightful, fun and heartfelt.  I walked away from tonight’s class with two realizations.

If you know the story of Mary and Martha (Luke 10:38-42), Martha was the doer of the duo. She was the party-thrower, the dinner server, the table cleaner.  She did it all.  While having Jesus over for dinner one night, Martha found herself again doing everything while her sister, Mary, sat as Jesus’ feet and listened to him talk.  I realized that I have been Martha for a long time. Serving, taking care of , coordinating, taking charge and making sure things run smoothly.  Now, I need to be Mary for a while, sitting at the feet of Jesus and listening to him through his Word.

The other realization I had is a little more humbling, a little more intimidating.  As I was watching the video tonight, John 13:34 popped up on the screen:

A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, even as I have loved you, that you also love one another.” 

At that moment, I realized that I’ve been getting it all wrong. I’ve spent a lifetime treating people as *they* treat me.  If you are kind and respectful to me then I’m the same to you.  If you treat me with disregard, disrespect or selfishness, then I wallow in hurt and anger and I have no use for you. I hold how people treat me to *my* standard.

But God doesn’t do that.

God has never left my side.  He has loved me through think and thin.  He has loved me when I deserve it, and most importantly, when I don’t deserve it.  My focus has been on loving people how they love me.  But I need to love people as GOD loves me.  It doesn’t matter how people treat me.  That’s simply not part of the equation.

I get it now.  It’s humbling. It’s huge. It totally changes my perspective.

And I haven’t even done my homework yet.

Live. Laugh. Love.

Follow “Dropping the Baggage” on Facebook and join a community of people who want to live a healthier life. www.facebook.com/DroppingTheBaggage

 

Leave a Reply

