Savor

“Whenever I go on a ride, I’m always thinking of what’s wrong the thing and how it can be improved.”–Walt Disney

Ugh.  It’s the curse of the perfectionist.  Walt Disney and I seem to be kindred spirits.

The work we do as perfectionists is never quite good enough.  No matter how good it is, no matter how plentiful the praise from others, there’s always something that could have been done better, tighter, earlier, etc.  The experience can always be better.  That’s what keeps us motivated.  Moving forward.  Interested.  Driven.

That’s my world.  I’m a perfectionist of me.  Others can have flaws and that’s cool.  But the things that I touch better be perfect.

And, of course, they’re not.  But that’s the challenge.

I understand what Walt means.  When I go on my rides, whether it’s hitting a weight loss milestone, a professional marker or even a family day trip, I’m always thinking of how it can be improved in the moment.   Not after as a reflection.  But then.  Here. Now.

There’s little time for glory moments for a perfectionist. We’re always on the hunt to improve…to out-do…to exceed.   Meeting expectations is simply not good enough.

I wonder what would happen, though, if I savored the moment just a little bit more.  If I wasn’t as quick to judge how something could be made better, but focused a little more on what was good and right.  If I stopped looking at the imperfections and instead tried to see the perfect.

I mean, that’s what God does, right?  Does He sit on His throne and look down on me and say, “There she’s goes, falling short again.  She is so IMPERFECT.”

“And He has said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.’ Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me.”–2 Corinthians 12:9

A sunset on Lake Michigan is pretty perfect.
A sunset on Lake Michigan is pretty perfect.

Likely, God revels in my imperfection.  Because it is there that His glory is found.   My shortcomings, my failures (self-perceived or not), are all opportunities for God to work in my life.   It’s a reminder that He is perfect and creates perfection.  Even if I don’t think I’ve done something perfectly, I’ve been created by God who creates nothing that is not good and perfect.

This is not to say that the fact that I haven’t gone to the gym in almost two months is perfect.  Not hardly.  But that weakness gives God the opportunity to work in me.

I take me as I am, knowing that my drive toward perfection is imperfect, but also that it’s a human opinion and God has much opportunity to do great things with me.

My challenge this week will be to savor the moment and see.

Live.  Laugh.  Love.

Follow “Dropping the Baggage” on Facebook and join a community of people who want to live a healthier life. www.facebook.com/DroppingTheBaggage

Leave a Reply

