“Just get up and do it”

That’s what I told myself yesterday morning.

I was lying in bed deciding if I wanted to get up or go back to sleep.  Marathon Man had already left for his 11-mile training run and the Minions were still sleeping.  I had this strange urge to get up and walk a 5k.  Not an “official” one, just walking around my neighborhood.  As I was conversing with myself where this urge was coming from, I heard in the back of my head “Just get up and do it!”.

So I did.

With my earbuds on, my mapmywalk.com app open and tracking,  I walked 3.1 miles in 47:59 beating my PB from my only other 5k back in March by about 10 minutes. I burned 658 calories and didn’t even realize I broke a sweat.  The weather was simply gorgeous; a perfect morning.  And the boys were still sleeping when I got home.

I wouldn’t have even considered doing something like this a year ago.

For the most part, taking risks, trying new things and making my body do things it has never done before has actually been kind of fun.  I like seeing how flexible I’ve become and enjoy pushing the envelope (again, something I wouldn’t have done a year ago).  I downloaded a new squats app last week.  It will train you to go from 0 (me) – 100 squats in ten weeks.  For those of you who are in shape, you’re probably laughing at how ridiculous it is that there’s an app for that.  But, I have to say, I really like having a coach to help me build endurance.

I definitely have my sights set on our town’s biggest 5k of the year, the Popcorn Panic It’s going to be a family affair this year. Marathon Man will run it, because that’s what he does.  Big Minion will be a course volunteer and Little Minion and I will walk it.  Again, something I never thought I would do.

Here’s to the new adventures a healthy lifestyle brings.

Live.  Laugh.  Love.

Follow “Dropping the Baggage” on Facebook. http://www.facebook.com/DroppingTheBaggage

 

 

Leave a Reply

