Progress report: Satisfactory, Needs Improvement and “not so much”

goal

When I set personal goals for the coming year, I write them down as if I’ve already reached them. It’s a challenging exercise because it causes me to really discern what I have control over in my life and what I don’t.  It also causes an emotional reaction, because I envision what it feels like to reach a particular goal. With four and a half months left in the year, I thought I’d take a look to see which goals are within reach and which goals need more attention.

So, with that, here is how 2013 turned out for me (so far).

Spiritual

  • I feel so much fuller and richer now that I’ve stopped focusing on serving God and started focusing on knowing God.  I didn’t realize how superficial my relationship with Him was.  I’ve been reading more about faith and putting more of my life into God’s hands. I really took the Church’s “Year of Faith” to heart and I love the knowledge and peace I’ve gained.
    This is a goal which, of course, I’ll spend my life pursuing. But, I have made efforts to be less “Martha” and more “Mary” and sit at the feet of Christ, listening to His Word.  I’m in the middle of my second Bible study class this year and I have learned so much already.  I’ve loved being a “student” for a while. Satisfactory

Marriage & Family

  • I had so much fun on our family long weekend getaway this year.
    We’re planning an overnight at an out-of-state resort during fall break.  It’s been tough because of work/school/volunteer schedules and a lack of expendable cash.  However, Big Minion is a senior in high school this year and the opportunity for family vacay time is quickly fleeting.  Needs improvement
  • My interaction with the kids has been much more focused and positive.  I’ve really enjoyed playing games with them more often and I’ve tried to always have a positive tone in my voice and be more affectionate with both of them. We laugh more and have enjoyed each other more than ever.
    I wish I could say this goal is 100% met, but alas, it needs work.  My interaction was better earlier this year.  Lately, however, I find myself slipping back into old habits and becoming disengaged.  It might help if I gave up playing “Candy Crush”.  Needs Improvement
  • The weekend trip Marathon Man and I took to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary was perfect.  I really wanted do something super meaningful for him to celebrate what an amazing husband, person and friend he is to me.
    We didn’t take a weekend trip, but we had our marriage blessed in a church in the town where Marathon Man proposed to me.  Our Minions, friends and family were there to celebrate with us. It was super meaningful and awesome!  Satisfactory

Personal

  • I did it!  I stuck to my plan and lost 65 pounds this year!  I hit my weight loss goal and I feel fantastic.  I have so much more energy and I look great.  As a reward to myself, I bought those black boots I’ve wanted for forever.  Love them!
    I’ve lost 60 since late October.  Only 20 pounds more to go to reach my goal.  And, I have my black boots all picked out :).  Satisfactory
  • I’m in such a better place emotionally now that I believe in my self-worth. I don’t react so intensely and personally to the negative things people say and do to me.
    I have definitely made progress on this, especially in the last two months.   Part of that has to do with my spiritual growth and part of that has to do with the removal of some negative forces in my life.  Satisfactory

Professional

  • The special events for the Club were so successful this year! Plus, I love that I was able to add my own personal touch to each of them. I had so much fun this year!
    This is 50/50 so far.  Our Golf Outing was awesome and the personal touches I added to it worked out well.  The other event this year was a disaster and I don’t want to talk about it. Ever.  Our Annual Dinner is up next and I’m really excited and optimistic about its success.  Needs Improvement

Financial

  • I did a really good job working with Marathon Man in getting our financial house in order.  Last year was a disaster. But, I improved my communication with him so we were always aware of what was going to be spent before it was.  We caught up on all our bills and our emergency fund is fully funded.  Plus we had plenty of money saved for Christmas this year.
    Communication is certainly better.  But the rest of it, umm…Not So Much

There’s work to do, but I’m confident that I’ll reach most of these.

Live. Laugh. Love.

Follow “Dropping the Baggage” on Facebook. http://www.facebook.com/DroppingTheBaggage

 

 

Leave a Reply

