By hook or by crook, I’m gonna learn how to cook

With the start of the school year, our schedules tend to get over booked pretty quickly.   We prioritize our priorities so much that important things fall through the cracks because *more* pressing things take their place. I know I can’t possibly be the least organized parent at Little Minion’s school, but it sure feels like it some times.

This year, Marathon Man isn’t home in the evenings to make the family dinner.  From mid-August to the end of October, he’s coaching tennis after school.  He is also teaching Religious Ed every week, has Parish Council meetings once a month, broadcasts high school sports on the radio/web every week, is coaching Little Minion’s basketball team, yada, yada, yada.  Here’s the thing…he’s the only one who knows how to cook.  It’s true.  Marathon Man comes from a long line of dads who cook.  I didn’t learn as a kid and had no desire or need to learn since I married “the best husband cook in the world”.  Normally, if he’s not home to make dinner, I would order out or pick up a frozen-something.  And, 99% of the time, that food would be tasty, but b.a.d. for me and the Minions.

So last night, I made dinner.

I found a healthy, low calorie-low sodium recipe for southwestern pork chops.   Sounded yummy and looked easy enough to make.  I was a little hesitant because I don’t have a lot of experience cooking meat, other than browning ground beef.  I tried to follow the recipe as closely as I could, but messed up step two.  The recipe called for 2 tbsp of garlic pepper seasoning.  I have no idea where to find that, so I lightly coated the chops with GrillMates Mesquite seasoning.  I also added salt and pepper to the chops on both sides, because I remember watching Emril Lagasse doing that. I was supposed to add a TBSP of  canola oil to the pan, but I added about 1/8 c of olive oil.  The kids said no salsa, so I left that out.  I forgot to remove the chops from the pan before adding and boiling the crushed pineapple.  I was also only supposed to add 1 c of pineapple, but, I’m sure I added more than that.

Pork chops in the skillet before the crushed pineapple bath.
Pork chops in the skillet before the crushed pineapple bath.

I served them up with a side of standard green beans and a slice of wheat bread (I couldn’t think of another side dish) and prayed that no one got sick.

It turn out that, although this barely resembled the original recipe, the chops were fully cooked (whew!) and really good.  Everyone cleaned their plates and said we should do this again.   Yay me!!!

Now I need to figure out what to make tonight…and tomorrow…and Friday…

Live.  Laugh.  Love.

Follow “Dropping the Baggage” on Facebook. http://www.facebook.com/DroppingTheBaggage

Leave a comment