Down and not out

Last night, I decided to toss caution to the wind and have a gooey cheeseburger and yummy fries from our favorite burger joint, Redamak’s.  I also had an American Pale Ale and a couple of glasses of wine during the night.  It was delish.  I was fully prepared to pay for it in the morning, feeling like a l-o-n-g walk was in my future and the scale was going to be unkind.

Redamak's uses a slab of Velveeta on their cheeseburger.  Oh, yeah.
Redamak’s uses a slab of Velveeta on their cheeseburger. Oh, yeah.

But, I actually was down 2/10 of a pound!

I guess this was one “cheat day” that actually worked.

As of today, I have 15 days to lose 5.5 pounds to win the dietbet.  That’s a little more than 2 1/2 pounds a week.  Should be do-able, but I’ve yet to find the key to push me off the plateau.  Somehow, I don’t think that my Saturday night burger and beer is the ultimate answer to my weight loss, but I think I’ve learned something here.

After our moment in burger-heaven, we walked down to the lake to watch the sunset.  I realized that I haven’t really walked in a while, especially on a regular basis.  Maybe that’s what I need.

Sunset over New Buffalo Harbor
Sunset over New Buffalo Harbor

So, I’m going to start walking again.  Starting Tuesday.  On the days I’m not doing my squats routine, I’m going to take 20 minutes in the morning and walk.  I can’t eat less, but I can burn more.  So, if I burn a net 500 calories this week and next, lay off the wine, and keep my calorie count the same, I should have a pretty good chance of reaching my dietbet goal.

Wish me luck.

Oh, and if you have any advice, I’d love to hear that too.

Live.  Laugh.  Love.

Follow “Dropping the Baggage” on Facebook. http://www.facebook.com/DroppingTheBaggage

Leave a Reply

