I have a plateau, and I’m not afraid to use it

scale

Seriously!  Weight loss plateaus are pretty dangerous.  They are demoralizing, defeating, inexplicable, mysterious.  They can wreck all kinds of havoc on a person’s self-esteem. And they seem to appear out of nowhere.

Run a google search on weight loss plateaus and the results are endless.  Every “expert” has an opinion on what causes them and the “perfect solution” for busting off of them.  In this article, the author lists five “surprising” reasons why you (meaning me) may not be losing weight.  First, apparently, we all need to have a ghrelin balance.  I’m not really sure what this is or how to pronounce it, so it must be important.  Buying your food with cash also will get you off the plateau.  Don’t *think* about exercising.  Thinking about exercising will make you hungry and you’ll eat. The author didn’t say anything about exercising to get off the plateau, so that must not work either.  Sitting at work makes you a blob. Okay, this one I actually buy into.  I sit on a yoga ball instead of an office chair at work to strengthen my core. I’ve also been known to get up and dance at my desk.  But, I’m not losing weight, so I wouldn’t call that a plateau buster.  And lastly, get some sleep.  I’ll get right on that.

In all honesty, I feel like I’ve been doing everything right, so one of those things must be wrong.  The infographic below explains that the right things work, but maybe I need to take it to the next level. Maybe.

plateau infographic

Live. Laugh. Love.

Follow “Dropping the Baggage” on Facebook. http://www.facebook.com/DroppingTheBaggage

Leave a Reply

