Happy anniversary to me!

happy anniversary

I love anniversaries.  I love celebrating milestones marking achievement.  It was one year ago today that I decided to change (and save) my life; the day I decided to lose weight.

My lovely scale reported this morning that I have lost a total of 67.5 pounds.   That’s certainly a reason to celebrate.  It’s also a reason to feel very blessed.  I don’t know how many years I’ve added on to my life by making it easier on my heart and lungs, but I’m guessing it’s a few.

It hasn’t always been easy.  In fact, reaching my year-end goal has been a real challenge lately.  But that’s okay.  I’ve learned a lot.  I’ve learned what to and not to eat.  I’ve learned that wine has calories.  I’ve learned that, although I’ve really tried, running isn’t my thing.  I’ve learned that I can get out bed and walk three miles.  And do 82 squats…with weights.  I’ve learned that shopping for clothes still isn’t fun.  I’ve learned that I have a cheek bones and knee caps.  And neck muscles.  I’ve learned that I don’t need pop (soda) to get me through the day.  A cold glass of water is much more energizing.  I’ve learned that only I can motivate myself and that I can’t motivate others.  But, I’ve been told that I’ve been an inspiration.

So happy anniversary to a smaller me.

“We acquire the strength we have overcome.”–Ralph Waldo Emerson

Live. Laugh. Love.

Follow “Dropping the Baggage” on Facebook. http://www.facebook.com/DroppingTheBaggage

Leave a Reply

