A minor adjustment

goal_puzzle

I’m not one for setting myself up for failure.

I still want to lose a total of 80 pounds. But seeing as I haven’t been able to break through this plateau since July, losing the last 15 pounds in the remaining 31 days of the year is not very realistic.  So, I’m moving the marker a little bit.  My new goal is to lose 6.4 pounds by the end of year.

I know.  Sounds too easy.  However, I’ve been playing with the same four pounds since mid-July.  They come off , they come back on.  They come off, they come back on.  They come off, they come back on.  If I find “Perry the Plateau-pus” a new home, it will be a BIG victory for me.

Of course, the problem is that I’m not sure how to make it happen.  I don’t know what piece I’m missing. I’ve tried all SORTS of things, none with sustainable results: increased calories, decreased calories, focused on toning, focused on cardio, took medication, stopped taking medication, cut down on wine, taken a break from exercising, decreased stress etc. None of it in the past four months has helped me get through the wall.

Since “doing the same thing and expecting different results is the definition of insanity”, I’m in search of something new that will give me immediate results.  Or at least results over the next four weeks.

Much of where I need to lose weight is below my waist.  The upper half of my body has responded well to transformation.  But I have a stubborn ass.  This article on Livestrong.com describes five exercises that target fat under the belly button.  They all seem very do-able and can fit into my morning exercise time. Whether this, combined with my healthy eating habits, is the key to success is something time will tell.

“You cannot expect to achieve new goals or move beyond your present circumstances unless you change.” ~Les Brown

Live. Laugh. Love.

Follow “Dropping the Baggage” on Facebook. http://www.facebook.com/DroppingTheBaggage

2 thoughts on “A minor adjustment

  1. Some ideas that have worked for me in the past overcoming a plateau (and it really sounds like you’ve found a big one) are to completely mix up your routines. A “Hard reset” eating wise is hugely helpful. On the exercise front, if you normally are a cardio person, kick up the weights. If you normally do your own thing, take some classes. Your body (and my body) get very good at what they do – read, not get as much benefit. Sometimes, your body just needs a good shocker! Good luck!

    1. I agree. I think a hard reset and getting back to basics is the best course of action. I’m going to do a combination of walking and toning three times a week, so that’s an increase. I’m also going to get back to basics on eating and cut our more carbs. I’m only eating between 1400-1700 calories a day, so it’s hard to cut there, but I’m going to go back to more raw and less processed. Hoping that I see results this week!

Leave a Reply

