Redefining success (because “failure” is kind of harsh)

success vs failure

I’m down net one pound.  At least I didn’t gain.  That’s a success.

I ran/walked a mile in 13:54.  It never occurred to me that I could move at that pace.  That’s a success.

People from all corners of my world have been telling me that they have been inspired by my journey or that a post I wrote moved them.  I never expected that kind of support and feedback.  That’s a success.

And that’s just this week.

I think my goal of losing 6.4 pounds by the end of the year is probably out of reach at this point.  My body just isn’t responding to the effort I’m making.  While that’s certainly disappointing, I don’t want to call it a true failure.  I can hang my hat on a lot of other unanticipated successes and intentional lifestyle changes that are now permanent.  I’ll never have another Big Mac.  That’s for sure.

That’s not to say that I’m content with my body and weight.  I’m not.  A goal for 2014 will be to lose these pesky 15 pounds.  I’m a little concerned that I may have messed up my metabolism or broken something, because there really ISN’T a logical reason why I’ve stopped losing. I’m going to visit the doctor in January and see what she recommends.

In the meantime, I’m going to keep doing what I’ve been doing and enjoy the Christmas season with my family and friends.  It’s been a year worth celebrating.

“You don’t have to be perfect in order to be successful.” ~Anonymous

Time to go and get a Christmas tree.

Live. Laugh. Love.

Follow “Dropping the Baggage” on Facebook. http://www.facebook.com/DroppingTheBaggage

Leave a Reply

