The road to fulfillment

cropped-open-road.jpg

Merry Christmas!

I’ll admit it.  Here, I try to live by the rule that if you don’t have anything good to say, don’t say anything.  I certainly don’t want to be a downer, which is why it’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve posted.   I’ve had a hard time feeling merry this year.  As usual, and more so this year, there’s no time and no money for merriment and frivolity.  We’re a pretty faithful family and we understand the reason for the season.  That takes a little of the commercial edge off of things, but as a mom, I still want my family to wake up to a lavish pile under the tree on Christmas morning.  This year, I’ve told my kids that there won’t be very much under the tree for Christmas, but I’ll make it up to them in January.  If Christmas was only a month later.

Let’s face it.  It’s been a tough six months.  I haven’t reached one goal, personally or professionally, since mid-summer.  For someone who is accustomed to achieving, this has been a bitter pill to swallow. It’s not for a lack of hard work and sacrifice.  There’s been plenty of that.  I just don’t have anything to show for it.  Not even a “thank you”.

So how do I change this?  I’ve tried adjusting my goals, aligning them with the path I seem to be taking.  But even then, my achievements are elusive.  I’m not sure what the problem is.  Maybe 2014 is the year that I just won’t set any goals; like the line from the Gin Blossoms song “If you don’t expect too much from me, you might not be let down,”.  Do I expect too much from myself?  From others?  Maybe.  Probably.

There are 13 days left of the year.  I’m going to keep my chin up, count my blessings (despite of my whining, there are many) and try to make the best of the season as I can for my family.  I’m also going to spend some quiet time to try to discern what course-corrections I need to make in 2014 so I can get back on the road to fulfillment.

Live.  Laugh.  Love.

Follow “Dropping the Baggage” on Facebook. http://www.facebook.com/DroppingTheBaggage

Leave a Reply

