Not healthy, but OMG!

These turned out darn tasty!
These turned out darn tasty!

What a Merry Christmas!  It was truly a row of magical days for all of us.  We gathered in celebrations with family and friends from near and far to honor Jesus’ birth and the love that we have for each other.

Tons of laughter, delight, surprise and phenomenal memories that will last a lifetime.  I love Christmas.

Despite my concern that the Minions were going to be left wanting, it turned out to be the best Christmas ever for both of them.  They were excited about and cherished every gift they received.  That, in turn, made it the best Christmas ever for me.  God is good and He answered my prayers. (Grandma helped make a couple of miracles happen too, that’s for sure).

One of my all-time favorite moments, not just of Christmas–but of EVER, is this one with the Minions.

Another really cool thing that happened was that I made a fabulous DIY gift for the adults in the family.  I decided to make “Bourbon Chocolate Brownies with Butterscotch Rum Ganache” from a recipe I found on  thefreshfridge.com.  As was evidenced over the summer when I was left to cook on my own for two weeks, I don’t follow recipes very well.  This time, however, I think that worked in my favor.

Granted, my brownies (pictured above) weren’t as pretty as thefreshfridge’s, but they were potent and portable, making them fantastic for gift giving.

I basically followed the recipe, but changed these things:
To the Brownie batter–I added a 1/4 c of Hershey’s Chocolate syrup.
To the Butterscotch topping–These had to be able to sit for a day to be given as gifts, so a soft ganache was not going to work.  Instead, I melted a package of butterscotch chips in a double boiler and added seven tablespoons of Bacardi rum.  Little Minion crushed pretzels and I mixed those into the butterscotch/rum mixture. That’s it. I didn’t add any sugar or cream.
To finish–Little Minion and I hollowed out the center of each brownie (not too deep) and filled it with the butterscotch.  Then we smoothed a layer of butterscotch over the top of each brownie.
The key is to store and package in an airtight container.  This kept the brownie soft and delightful and also allowed the butterscotch to harden.

The pretzels make it a little healthy, right?

Live.  Laugh.  Love.

Follow “Dropping the Baggage” on Facebook. http://www.facebook.com/DroppingTheBaggage

Leave a Reply

