One thing at a time

keep-calm-and-do-one-thing-at-a-time

One thing at a time.  That’s the plan for 2014.

When it comes to setting goals for the coming year, I have always set one or two in each area of my life: professional, financial, family, personal, and spiritual. Then I make an action plan for each goal.  Invariably, at the end of the year, there are goals that are important, but haven’t been met.  Those goals roll over to the next year’s list, leaving me feeling a bit under-accomplished.

For the last 12-13 years, I’ve worked under the premise that our minds can focus on no more than five things at a time.  So at the beginning of the year, I set out to work on all of the five goal areas simultaneously.  But, this article suggests that maybe that’s not necessarily so.  Perhaps, while we can manage five things on our radar screen without feeling overwhelmed, we can only *focus* on one thing at a time.  “Try to hold (two unrelated) thoughts in your mind at the same time. You can’t! You can alternate back and forth, but you cannot think about two things at once,“.  That may be why, year after year, I have one or two goals met (or close to that) and others that haven’t even been touched.  Completing tasks and accomplishing goals are two completely different things.

2014 is the year I want to accomplish.  I’m still setting goals in my five areas, but, even though I will work on more than one at a time, I am going to *focus* on one at a time.  When I reach the first, I’ll focus on the next.  When I reach that one, I’ll focus on the the next and so on.

Here are my goals for 2014:
Personal:  I will lose and keep off these last darn 15 pounds.
Financial:  I will cease starting off in the red with each paycheck.  This one has top priority.
Family:  I will spend more time with my extended family members.  They are really cool people and I want to reconnect with them.
Spiritual:  I will show more compassion towards others.
Professional:  I will achieve a work-life balance.  Doing this will make me more productive (and less stressed) in both arenas.

Thank you so much for reading this blog and joining me in my journey.  May you be blessed and healthy in 2014.

Live.  Laugh.  Love.

Follow “Dropping the Baggage” on Facebook. http://www.facebook.com/DroppingTheBaggage

Leave a Reply

