Milemarkers and milestones

75 pounds

I lost another five pounds – this time without the help of an ear infection.

That’s a total of 75 pounds!

And I’ve lost 13 of those pounds since January 17th.  Roughly two pounds a week; nice and steady.

I’ve spent a long time studying how my body works and how it responds to food.  What I’ve realized are two very important things: any amount of anything made with enriched flour is B.A.D. and (dare I say it) wine isn’t my friend either.  I’ve been reading labels and forgoing the vino for three weeks now.  It’s a lot less challenging to avoid enriched flour products than I thought it would be. There are more and more options of non-enriched flour foods, you just need to look for them.  I’m sticking with whole grains if I want to eat a bread or snack.  Popcorn and Chex cereal are my new favorite snacks.  I actually gave up alcohol for Lent. That, unlike the enriched flour foods, is NOT a permanent sacrifice.

Marathon Man and me
Marathon Man and me

Marathon Man, Little Minion and I finished our first 5k of the year.  It was snowy, COLD, windy and wet.  My feet were soaked and I couldn’t warm up for a week. But, I did shave six minutes off of my time from last year.  So that was cool. It was also the first 5k Marathon Man and I were in together.  That was cooler.

Marathon Man kept pace with Little Minion – which was SLOW.  Minion changed his shoes to an older pair at the last minute and that turned out to be a bad idea.  The shoes were too small. But, he didn’t say anything about his shoes until AFTER we all finished.  It took the poor guy 1 hour and 20 minutes!  He said, “Mom, I am never doing this again!”.   I certainly don’t doubt that he won’t be in the Spirit Run again, but I’m determined to a) get a pair of good-fitting shoes for him and b) get him out on a flat course soon to counter this with a positive experience.  He did commit to running three 5k races this year, with the Spirit Run being the first.  He’s a trooper.

Seems to me that there is a fine line between insanity and dedication…I call that line commitment.” ―Jeremy Aldana

Live. Laugh. Love.

Follow “Dropping the Baggage” on Facebook. http://www.facebook.com/DroppingTheBaggage

Leave a Reply

