GOAL!!!!

80

I finally made it!!  I’ve lost 80 POUNDS!!!!

29.6% of my body weight!

Goal met.  Check it off the list!

A few of my friends have asked how I’m losing weight, so I thought I’d share here.

Here’s my general daily diet.  The key for me is nothing made with enriched flour.  Reading labels is essential.  I was shocked to see that a Nutrigrain bar has enriched flour.  I never would have guessed that, so I read the label on everything before I buy or eat it.
Breakfast:
One scrambled egg, a piece of 100% whole wheat toast, 1-2 cups of coffee with Coffee Mate or half & half and a glass of water
Morning snack:
a peanut butter or chocolate chip granola bar
Lunch:
Two sticks of string cheese, a protein bar and three slices of deli turkey (from the deli case, not the packaged garbage)
Sometimes, I may eat a salad with grilled chicken, or have deli turkey and sliced cucumber.
Dinner:
Since Marathon Man is the family chef, he’ll make dinner for the family and then adapt to suit my plan.  That may mean a burger without the bun, pork or chicken tacos with corn tortillas, Italian sausage & peppers without the pasta, etc.  On pizza or pasta nights, I’ll just make myself a two egg cheese omelet.
Evening snack:
a 1/2 cup of ice cream.  Most brands have less than 150 calories, even with all of the mix-ins.  But…check the label first.
Beverages:
Water, water, water and an occasional brewed Ice Tea.  Starbucks Black Ice Tea is my favorite and, no calories! I gave up alcohol for Lent and, after seeing these results, I’m thinking of keeping it that way–at least for a little while.  Okay, maybe just a few sips here or there 🙂
Exercise
I’m up to 66 squats and 10 minutes of stretching with three-pound weights  2-3 times a week.  I don’t think it’s a big calorie burner, but I’m building strength and toning up.  When school is out, I’ll start walking/jogging in the morning before work again.

The up and downside is that none of my clothes fit me.  It’s awesome that I’m getting smaller, but I feel so frumpy in my current clothes that I can’t stand wearing them.  Even my shoes are too big!  I’ve started shopping for a new career wardrobe, but finding new clothes that fit is difficult too. I’ve found a couple of cute dresses, a skirt and a top, but pants…forget about it.  Either the waist is too big or the legs are too long or both.  I’m a value-shopper, so buying something and then paying someone to make it fit (I don’t sew) seems like a waste of money to me.  For the time being, I’ll just wear skirts and dresses. I love the A-line style.  Very  classic and very flattering.

Although I’ve reached my weight loss goal, I’m going to stick with my plan and let my body do it’s thing.  There’s still more weight to lose.  I think my focus from here is upping the exercise and getting more fit and tone.

I’m super thankful for all of the support I’ve received on this journey.  There’s no way I could have made it without the words of encouragement, advice, and just plan old cheering me on.

“It is not the mountain we conquer, but ourselves.” –Sir Edmund Hillary

On to the next chapter!

Live.  Laugh.  Love.

Follow “Dropping the Baggage” on Facebook.http://www.facebook.com/DroppingTheBaggage

2 thoughts on “GOAL!!!!

Leave a Reply

