90 pounds and counting…

 

90 pounds less of me
90 pounds less of me

90 pounds.  Since October 2012, I’ve lost a net total of 90 pounds!  Couldn’t have done it without the support and encouragement of so many: friends, family members, and you.

I’m really honored and humbled that there are people in this world who have told me that they have been inspired by my journey.  They are on a path to a healthier lifestyle now and I’m really glad that I am an unexpected part of that.   I set out to make a difference in my life.  But to hear that I’ve made a difference in the lives of others, well, that’s pretty priceless.

And I’m not done yet.

As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t have a weight goal anymore.  I did, but then I surpassed it.  Now, my goal is wear a size 12.  I’m close.  I can fit into most size 14s.  But not all.  I know…how is it possible that I lost 90 pounds and am still not a size 12?  I’m not sure either, except to say that I shrank from top to bottom.  I’m a bit pear-shaped now; size Medium shirt, size Large skirts and I’ve yet to find a pair of pants to fit me. But it’s better than the 2x shirts and 22W pants that I used to wear.  I’ll take this any day.

I also want to focus on maintaining the weight loss.  If I lose more, fantastic.  If I don’t, I’m okay with that too.  I just don’t want to gain.   I know that I need to exercise.  I haven’t had a good walk or work out since July.  It’s in me.  I can feel it. This time of year, though, is pretty hectic and stressful. Now that Marathon Man has finished coaching tennis, we can get back on more of a routine and I can try to regain a little balance in my life.  That will help with the exercise part.

Now that Marathon Man’s schedule is permitting him to be home at a decent time on most days again, he can resume regular grocery shopping and the cooking.  I have found over the last couple of months that I stink at grocery shopping.  I can go into the store for four things to make a dinner and leave spending $50!  Yet, Marathon Man can spend $150 and feed us for a week.  It will be good to have him home in the evenings again…until basketball season :).

Speaking of shopping…I’m probably the last person on Earth to have discovered MorningStar Farms Burgers.  I LOVE these!  First, they are a FRACTION of the cost of beef.  Second, they are low calorie, high-protein, filling and delicious!  I keep a regular stock in my freezer now.  I usually cook two patties in a pan with a little bit of olive oil.  I add mozzarella or jack cheese to the middle of the patties (stack them) and let it get gooey.  Put that with a side of steamed broccoli and I have a tasty, healthy little dinner!  Now, if I could only get the Minions to try them.

On another note, tomorrow I am launching a new blog.  The topic is on debt reduction.  Thanks to the angels I mentioned in a previous post, Marathon Man and I are finally in a position to begin breaking the chains that keep us from financial health.  We analyzed our budget today and realized that we had no idea how significant our debt payments are.  That’s gotta change.  Marathon Man will be a co-blogger on this one.  We got into this together, we’re getting outta this together.

So, please look for the announcement tomorrow and please join us on our journey to financial health.

Live.  Laugh.  Love.

 

Leave a Reply

