O Sleep, wherefore art thou?

This has been a rough week.  And it’s Wednesday.

no sleep

I have been waking up between 2:00-3:00 every morning this week.  And I haven’t been going to sleep before 11:30.  This really bites.

It’s the week leading up to the first (and last) 5K I’ve ever coordinated.  I never really sleep the week before a special event no matter how well prepared it is.  I’m a little neurotic that way…obsessively going over every minute detail over and over again to ensure that the event is flawless.   Always worried that I’m missing something big.  I want perfection in my work. I think that, although I don’t *feel* stressed about this race, I think that stress is manifesting subconsciously.

Of course, getting only 3-4 hours of sleep has its consequences.  For one, my emotions are running very high.  Like, dangerously.  I’m trying to keep things in check, but I seem to be on the verge of tears for the past couple of days.  According to webmd.com, there are “10 surprising effects of sleeplessness“.  I can’t say any of these are “surprising” (weight gain, poor skin, impairs judgement,  causes depression, etc.) Suffice it to say, we need sleep to function well and survive. So why is it so hard to get?

And if tonight my soul may find her peace
in sleep, and sink in good oblivion,
and in the morning wake like a new-opened flower
then I have been dipped again in God, and new-created.
~D.H. Lawrence

Live.  Laugh.  Love.

Leave a Reply

