Need some help packing Perry’s bags

He’s back.

Perry the Plateau-pus needs to pack his bags and leave
Perry the Plateau-pus needs to pack his bags and leave

Perry the Plateau-pus has taken up residency here again.  And it’s time for him to move on.  I haven’t had any progressive weight loss since October and I am ready to hit the 100 mark.  I know, in previous posts, I’ve championed being happy with 90 pounds and continuing to live a healthy lifestyle.  I’m not backing away from living a healthy lifestyle.  That is something I am super proud that I’ve learned how to do.  But, I admit that I’m a somewhat competitive person and the 100-pound mark has been taunting me.

So, less of me in 30 is my goal.  I will lose 10 pounds in 30 days.  This article provides a general outline for how to lose the weight.  One of the challenges I will face is calories.  The writer states:

“According to the American Obesity Association, you will lose 2 pounds a week is you can successfully cut 1,000 calories everyday. This means that you only need to reduce 8,000 calories every week to lose 10 pounds a month.” (Brad in the comments explains the math on this)

I’m already hovering around 1500-1800 calories, so this means that I will really need to amp up my calorie burn.  I don’t have a gym membership or a treadmill and we just had 15 inches of snow dumped on us, so my workout options are limited.  But, where there’s a will, there’s a way, right?

Support is a key factor with any type of weight loss or lifestyle change challenge.  I thought about joining a dietbet, but I’d rather go on a journey with people I’m already somewhat connected to.  So, who wants to join me?  Let’s form our own little support group or whatever it is you want to call it and let’s get fit!  Advice, encouragement, complaints, celebration, recipes, work out tips and reports, and above all, accountability.  Let’s show up for 30 days and say something to benefit each other.  We can use the Dropping the Baggage facebook page, create a hashtag for FB and twitter or go Instagram (I can make a “Less of Me in 30” account).  Comment below and let me know what social meeting place works best.

I’m ready to send Perry the Plateau-pus on his way start tomorrow!  How about you?

“Every accomplishment starts with the decision to try.”–unknown.

Live.  Laugh.  Love.

Leave a Reply

