Running revelations

Hmm.  It seems I haven’t crafted a blog post since February. That’s a mighty long time.

What’s new?  The biggest thing is that Big Minion moved to Florida back in July.  He’s had a rough go of it, for sure.  I’ve been praying since the day he left that God will light the way to the things he needs to live on his own, like a job.  I have faith that he is heading toward that path and life will become better for him soon.  As a mom, it hurts to know that your child is suffering and that there is little you can do.   Little as it is, Marathon Man and I have been trying to help him any way we can, no matter what.  God gives what we need; no more, no less.  I pray every day for his well-being, that he has a roof over his head, food in his body, work for his hands, and good friends for his soul.

The other big news that I signed up to run a half-marathon this coming November.  I’ve been trying to learn how to run since April and had some mild progress early in the summer.  My pace per mile was averaging 15 minutes and now I’m around 13:30.  The non-profit for which I work has a fundraising running team which will run a half or full marathon at the Indianapolis Monumental on November 7th.  My training was going well over the summer…and then school started, Marathon Man started coaching tennis, it started getting dark earlier and light later (I don’t like running in the dark), I bought the wrong shoe, I discovered what an IT band is, yada, yada, yada.  I met my fundraising goal, thanks to great friends who support my self-challenge, so I’m in to run and finish the half regardless.   But, training has become a challenge in of itself.  I’m also at the point where the easiest place to run, my neighborhood, has also become the most boring.  My neighborhood is a loop and the loop is exactly one mile long.  But there are two inclines which I dread and the monotony of literally running in circles for six months has taken the wind out of my sails.   I’ve been trying some workarounds (including planning running “adventures” elsewhere, joining a running group, trying different times of day), but when something isn’t perfect, nothing is. Mental blocks.  Mental blocks. Mental blocks.

I’ve been training using the Galloway walk/run method, which I really like.  I’m still trying to find my harmonic gait, but I know I can go four miles without feeling horrible.  After that, pain has been kicking in and it gets pretty miserable.  I went nine miles two weeks ago and ended up walking the last three because of an IT band issue. My half-marathon plan is to run/walk three, walk three, run/walk three, walk two and run/walk the rest. If I can figure out a training schedule that works for me, my half-marathon plan will change.  But for now, I know this is what I’m able to do.

I also have a new shoe!  After 2 1/2 years in my Mizuno Wave Inspire, it was time to retire them. The soles were wearing through. I spent a few brief and unfortunate miles in a Saucony, and then sought professional help at the place I should have gone to in the first place to replace my shoe; Extra Mile Fitness.  They put me in a Mizuno Wave Paradox which is a lightweight stability shoe, similar to my Wave Inspire.  Love it!  And it was ON SALE!  Love that too!

What’s not new?  My weight.  Yep.  Despite running-ish since April, I haven’t lost a net pound in a year.  Holding steady at 90.  That’s not necessarily a bad thing.  But, I’m so close to 100! Why can’t I lose those last 10 pounds?  I don’t know and my doctor doesn’t know.  The medication I was on hasn’t really done anything except help maintain my weight  for a year.  It’s not meant for that, so she took me off of it.  She recommended other medications, but they start around the $200/month mark and are not covered in the health plan.  That’s out. She said she’s taken me as far as she’s able.  Her recommendation is for me to seek out a trainer, which is not inexpensive and definitely not covered in the health plan (which is another blog post at a later date).  So, I’m on my own if I want to try to lose any more weight.  I’m in research mode, trying to find the best course of action for me.

“Don’t be discouraged. It’s often the last key in the bunch that opens the lock.” – Author Unknown

Live. Laugh. Love.

3 thoughts on “Running revelations

  1. Wow- you are getting so much faster! You know what’s cool about losing weight while training for a race? You get even FASTER without even trying! Not trying to be salesy at all, but I’d love to help you to see if I have a fitness program you might be interested in. I’m a coach for Beachbody, and what I could offer you is way less than $200/month, and it comes with free text/ chat coaching 🙂 Let me know if you’d like to talk or would like some info. No pressure- I’m just wondering if I can help! 🙂

Leave a Reply

