The unplanned half

On Sunday, I finished my second half marathon. It was an impromptu decision, made only because I had in my head that I wanted to complete a “practice” half before the Indy Monumental half marathon on November 5. Keep in mind that this whole “practice” half idea was conjured in the spring and was to have already been done. But, this training season has been a real challenge due to the lack of energy and dedication and the abundance of weight that I keep gaining back.

So, with less than two weeks before Indy, and not having logged any training time for the past month, this seemed like the ideal time for my “practice” half.

Knowing all that was stacked against me, I had two simple goals: don’t finish last and don’t get hurt. And then the stretch goal: finish under four hours. I knew I would be walking most of it, so the four hour goal truly was something try and reach.

Mission accomplished on all three!


I admit, I wasn’t in very good shape at the end. I developed three deep blisters on the bottom of my feet, which made the last three miles very difficult and painful to get through. When I arrived home, my feet were in such bad shape, I had to crawl up the stairs to my bedroom, and there I stayed until Monday morning.

However, 48 hours later, despite gaining three pounds (what?!?!?!), and mild aggravation of my plantar fasciitis, I feel really good. I feel that I accomplished something, even though I was truly underprepared.

I’m scheduled to do the Indy half in less than two weeks, the race I’ve actually been “training” for since April.  I’m not sure if I will. Do I have another half in me? What can I truly change in 12 days to have a better experience?  If I could lose 20 pounds and get a new foot, then I might have an outside chance.  Aside from that…

“When nothing is sure, everything is possible.”–Margaret Atwood. 

So there’s that.

Live. Laugh. Love.

Leave a Reply

