I made my own lunch and it’s a big deal

Today was a new day…sort of. I did feel the weight of shame as my CEO and my co-workers asked me how my race was on Saturday. And I cried big crocodile tears when I saw the photos taken of me during the race.  Ugh! Gaining 30 pounds doesn’t sound all that bad. But to see it? Horrible. I’ll never wear that getup again.

The good news is that I accomplished one small step in my new eating plan. I ate breakfast within 60 minutes of waking up. I didn’t pack a lunch, which meant I was eating mini-salami sticks out of the vending machine for lunch, but at least I did breakfast right.

I made a shopping list based on the eating suggestions in “Diet-Free for Life” and Marathon Man dutifully shopped this evening. After he came home and everything was unpacked, I made and packed my lunch for tomorrow. This is a really big deal! 


First of all, Marathon Man usually does this, since I don’t know my way around our kitchen very well. Secondly, working a plan gives me a huge sense of empowerment. I am taking the reigns of this wild weight gain and getting it under control. Or at least attempting.

Day 2 tomorrow. Another chance to make healthy decisions and work the plan. I can’t wait!


Live. Laugh. Love.

Leave a Reply

