My “Nutty” Body

My struggle is not new.  I’ve been overweight/obese my entire adult life.  It started in college, when I discovered the lunch time fajita bar at Casa Gallardo and my body fat and I have been at war ever since.

The fat’s been winning.

Yes, I lost 90 pounds over the last few years with lots of work, exercise, sacrifice, dedication to change…and weight loss medication.  When I saw that I kept the weight off for a year, I donated all of my “fat clothes”, thinking I’d never see 200+ pounds again.

And then, the doctor took me off the medication, with no alternatives and I discovered what was the real cause of my weight loss.  All of the lifestyle changes, the eating changes, the running…it was all an illusion.  Those turned out to be by-products of the real cause for my weight loss…the medication.  Once that was gone, the weight came back on with a vengeance.

It’s kind of been like Klump vs. Love in The Nutty Professor.

I WANT my “Love” body back.  This “Klump” body has to go.

It’s time to make a fresh start towards getting this weight off (and keeping it off) again.

Goal One: Stop gaining!
Goal Two: Start losing!
Goal Three: Maintain the weight loss for good.

Sounds easy.  It’s not.

I’m not sure yet where the path to regaining a stronger, lighter body is, but I’m taking one step at a time to find it.  I feel like the key to this (and to managing the other stressors in my life) is energy.  I need to stop feeling so tired all the time. Supplements? More sleep? Change what I’m eating? All of the above? Probably.

I’m starting with what I’m eating, because that’s the easiest and most cost effective. Today,  I begin cutting out sugars and breads.  There’s not too much of that in my diet now, but more than there should be.  So, it’s a good place to start.  Wine is likely my biggest culprit for sugar, so I’m eliminating that for 30 days.  And breads, well, that’s an easy cut. I just need to stick to it.

After 30 days, we’ll see what happens and then make the next change.  I’m not looking for a quick fix.  I want long-term, lasting change.

Here we go!

“The journey of a thousand miles (or 50 pounds) begins with a single step.”

Live.  Laugh.  Love.

Leave a Reply

